NIT Sikkim

Inspire Camp

Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.: Columbia University, USA; Post-doc: Stanford University, USA
Head, Department of Chemistry
Centre for Nanotechnology
Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
Research Area: Nanomaterials and its uses, Nanobiotechnology, Quantum dots.
More about mentor . . .

Prof. Ashok Kumar Ganguli, FIASc
Director, Institute of Nanoscience & Technology Mohali
Head, Department of Chemistry,
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Research Area:Rare earth oxypnictide superconductors, Nanorods and Nanoparticles, Core-shell Nanostructures, Polar Intermetallic Compounds (Zintl Phase).
More about mentor . . .

Prof. Bikas Kanta Chakrabarti, FINSA, FIASc, JCBNF
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Physics (1997)
Professor of Physics and Director, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics Kolkata
Research Area: Condensed matter physics, Statistical physics, Computational physics, Quantum phase transitions, Physical and Computational Model of Mind and Brain.
More about mentor . . .
Prof. Birendra Nath Mallick, FNASc, FIASc, FINSA
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Medical Sciences (2001)
Professor of Neurobiology,
School of Life Sciences
Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi
Research Area: Rapid Eye Movement (REM) Sleep
More about mentor . . .

Prof. Dipankar Chakraborti
Director (Research), School of Enviornmental Studies,
Jadavpur University, Kolkata
Research Area: Arsenic contamination and its effects; Environmental studies.
more about mentor. . .

Prof. Arun Baran Samaddar
PhD: Imperial College, London
Director, National Institute of Technology Sikkim
Former Director, Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology Allahabad
Research Area: Computer Science, Environment and Sustainable studies
more about mentor.. . .

Prof. Gautam Basu
PhD: Cornell University, USA
Department of Biophysics
Bose Institute Kolkata
Research Area: Biophysics of protein-protein interactions, substrate recognistion by glutamyl-tRNA.
more about mentor. . . .

Prof. Sabyasach Sarkar, FRSC, FIASc
Honorary Eminent Professor and Raja Ramanna Fellow
Department of Chemistry
IIST Shibpur, West Bengal
Former Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Kanpur
Research Area: Bioinorgaic Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, Chemical Darwinism, X-ray crystallography
more about mentor. . . .

Prof. Tushar Kanti Chakraborty, FINSA, FIASc, FNASc, JCBNF
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Chemical Sciences (2002)
Department of Organic Chemistry, IISc Bangalore
Former Director, Central Drug Research Institute Lucknow
Research Area: Organic synthesis, Drug design, Peptides and peptidomimetics, Total synthesis of Natural Products
more about mentor. . . .

rof. Shyam Sundar Rai, FINSA, FIASc, FNASc, JCBNF
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Earth Sciences (1996)
Professor & Chair, Earth and Climate Sciences
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Pune
Research Area: Theoretical Geophysics, Geochemistry, Seismology
more about mentor . . .

Prof. Mangesh B. Rege
Department of Mathematics
North-Eastern Hill University
Research Area: Ring theory
more about mentor.. . .

Prof. Yagya Dutta Sharma, FINSA, FIASc, FNASc
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Medical Sciences (1994)
more about mentor. . . .

    ~Abbreviations Used~
  • FINSA: Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy;
  • FIASc: Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences;
  • FNASc: Fellow of The National Academy of Sciences;
  • FRSC: Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK;
  • JCBNF: Jagadish Chandra Bose National Fellow.