NIT Sikkim

Workshop on Building Proficiency in Academic Writing

   29 September 2020 to 3 October 2020

   The purpose of academic writing is to share and discuss academic knowledge. Since each kind of academic writing is governed by its own rules and conventions; it is essential to identify the rules, process, nature, scope and expectations associated with the specific genre of academic writing. It is in this context and with a view to address concerns pertaining to the present times that the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, National Institute of Technology Sikkim, is organizing a one week online workshop on Building Proficiency in Academic Writing.

Topics to be covered include academic writing conventions and expectations; writers' objective and readers' taste; data collection & interpretation; use of research tools; using evidence to support knowledge; selection of an appropriate journal; identifying predatory journals; abstract writing; argument formulation; preparing the draft; structuring and formatting; citation, referencing and bibliography; editing the final paper; plagiarism check; grammar tools.

Resource Persons

Prof. Christopher Chapple

Professor of Indic and Comparative Theology at Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, USA

He is an Indologist and scholar of the renouncing religions of India, namely Yoga, Jainism and Buddhism.
Read More

Prof. Lakshmi Raj Sharma

Professor at the Department of English and Modern European Languages at the University of Allahabad, India

He is an Indian Author, Novelist and Academician. His book The Tailor's Needle was published in 2009.
Read More

Caroline Campbell

Lecturer in Language Teaching
LCS Assessment Lead

She has expertise in Language teaching, learning and assessment; English for Academic Purposes; curriculum design and evaluation; students as partners; academic integrity and employability. She was the Director of Languages for All (LfA) from 2014 to 2018 and was awarded a LITE Teaching Enhancement Project in 2017 and 2020.
Read More

Dr. Frank G. Karioris

Researcher in Comparative Gender Studies with a Specialisation in Sociology & Social Anthropology at University of Pittsburgh

His work has been published in various publications, most recently in the IDS Bulletin.
Read More

Anurag K. Agarwal

Faculty at IIM Ahmedabad and Visiting faculty at National Judicial Academy Bhopal and ESSEC Paris

He is a Harvard Law School graduate and is the first recipient of the Marti Mannariah Gurunath Outstanding Teacher Award at the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad.
Read More

Dr. Khagendra Acharya

Faculty of English at the Humanities and Management Unit, Kathmandu University

He is a recipient of MASHAV scholarship (2009) from the Government of Israel (2009), Scholar-in-Residence Fellowship (2010) from Forum on Contemporary Theory, India, Manisha Shrestha Memorial PhD Scholarship (2011-2014) from Kathmandu University, and Erasmus Scholarship from European Union.
Read More

Dr. Gillian Dooley

Honorary Senior Research Fellow at the Department of English, Flinders University, Australia

She was the founding general editor of the Transnational Literature from 2008-2018, and is founding co-editor of Writers in Conversation.
Read More

Prof. Kishore G. Kulkarni

Professor at Metropolitan State University of Denver, USA

He is an Economist, Author and Academician. He has authored/co-authored 8 books, of which Principles of Microeconomics is the most recent (2014).
Read More

Dr. Azhar Kazmi

Professor at the Department of Management & Marketing, King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals, Saudi Arabia

One of his most famous books is Strategic Management and Business Policy.
Read More

Organizing Committee

Prof. Mahesh Chandra Govil

Cheif Patron
Director, NIT Sikkim

Dr. Ranjan Bhasak

TEQIP Coordinator

Dr. Dhananjay Tripathi

Head, Department of HSS

Dr. Achintesh Narayan Biswas

Advisory Committee
Registrar, (I/C)

Dr. Sangram Ray

Advisory Committee
Dean of Student Welfare

Dr. Aninday Biswas

Advisory Committee
Associate Dean of Academics

Dr. Richa Mishra


Dr. Marx Oli Sigo