ONE WEEK ONLINE
FACULTY DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM
ON

STRATEGIES IN MODERN PEDAGOGY

(16.02.21 to 20.02.21)

ORGANIZED BY



NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SIKKIM

SPONSORED BY



ALL INDIA COUNCIL FOR TECHNICAL EDUCATION

OBJECTIVE & SCOPE OF THE PROGRAM

The world is changing into a modern technological base for new inventions and innovations. These things come with much higher expectations, mainly for quality guidance from mentors coming from different educational bodies all around the world. And the educational institutes will need to upgrade their curriculum and pedagogy across various disciplines to meet the rising expectations of the corporate world.



The proposed one week online faculty development program (FDP) will provide a platform to discuss the problems faced by teachers and PhD/PG students during both teaching and learning engineering, basic sciences and humanities. The workshop aims to explore the modern teaching and learning strategies used in the classroom and elsewhere on the campus. The target audience will be young faculty and researchers from all over the country. Eminent academicians from IITs, NITs, IIITs, IIMs, Central Universities etc. will deliver the lectures.

ABOUT NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SIKKIM

National Institute of Technology Sikkim is a public, technical and research institute located at Ravangla in Sikkim, India. It was established by an act of Parliament in the year 2010, as a part of the Eleventh Five Year Plan. Since 2010, NIT Sikkim has been successful in catering to the needs of thousands of students from all over the country as it aspires to become a globally recognized institution. The institute is offering B.Tech. programs in Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electrical and Engineering, **Electronics** Mechanical Engineering and Civil Engineering, and M.Tech. programs in Computer Science and **Engineering, Microelectronics & VLSI Design** and Electrical and Electronics Engineering. The Institute also offers M.Sc. program in Chemistry and Ph.D. programs in all departments.

Presently, the institute is working as a temporary campus at Ravangla which is a tourist town that lies between Pelling and Gangtok, and is connected by a national highway to other major towns in the state. The New Jalpaiguri Railway Station and Bagdogra Airport are respectively 124 km and 130 km away from the campus. Ravangla is situated at an elevation of 2100 meters surrounded by the Himalayan terrain, and is internationally famous for tourist spots like Buddha Park, Ralong Monastry, Temi Tea Garden etc.

RESOURCE PERSONS

Prof. K. K. Aggarwal is the Chairperson of National Board of Accreditation, India. He was decorated with Life Time Achievement Award by IETE and also by Computer Society of India.



Prof. Chandra Shakher is the Chairperson of the Board of Governors (BOG) of National Institute of Technology Hamirpur. He is a Professor Emeritus at Instrument Design Development Centre, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi.



Prof. Lalit K. Awasthi is the Director of NIT Jalandhar and NIT Hamirpur. He worked as the Director of several other renowned institutions, and has been a great mentor and an inspiring personality for all his students.



Prof. Shyam Sundar Pattnaik is the Director of National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research (NITTR) Chandigarh. He is a senior member of IEEE and fellow of IETE.



Prof. J. P. Singhal is the Former Vice Chancellor, University of Rajasthan. He is also a former principal of Agrawal PG College and Rajasthan state government nominee in the Syndicate (decision making body of the university).



Prof. Susheel K. Sharma is from the Dept. of English & Modern European Languages, University of Allahabad. He has been a very keen observer of social and literary issues.



Dr. R. Kishore Kumar is from the School of English Language Education of The English and Foreign Language University, a central university in Hyderabad. He had done his PhD, M Litt., PGDTE and PGCTE from the same university.



Prof. R. L. Raina is the Vice Chancellor at JK Lakshmipat University, Jaipur. He was a Professor at Indian Institute of Management Lucknow (IIML), where he had contributed immensely to the overall institution building.



Prof. Supriya Agarwal is from the Dept. of English, Central University of Rajasthan. She had contributed a lot to some wonderful writings such as 'Women in Patriarchy', 'Films and feminism: Essays in Indian cinema' etc.



CONCEPT NOTE

The word pedagogy is widely used, and often means simply "teaching". It is most commonly understood as the approach to teaching, the theory and practice of learning, and how this process influences, and is influenced by the social, political and psychological development of learners. And pedagogic training is what everyone majoring in education receives. Both the theory and practice of pedagogy vary greatly, as they reflect different social, political, and cultural contexts.

TOPICS INVOLVED

- Basics of a Classroom
- Role of a subject
- Teacher centred teaching
- Learner centred teaching
- Learning centred teaching
- Evolving a teacher from within
- Social & emotional intelligence of the student
- Classroom ethics
- Classroom expectations of students
- Comprehending what students comprehend
- Soft skills
- Teaching beyond classroom
- Open ended project handling
- Tackling non-verbal intervention
- Addressing the problem child

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

PATRON

Prof. Mahesh Chandra Govil Director, NIT Sikkim

COORDINATORS

Dr. Dhananjay Tripathi Head of Department HSS, Sikkim Dr. Sangram Ray
Dean Student Welfare, NIT
NIT Sikkim

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Prof. K. K. Aggarwal
Chairperson, National Board of Accreditation, India

Prof. Udaykumar R. Yaragatti Director, MNIT Jaipur

Dr. Roshan Lal Raina Vice Chancellor, JK Lakshmipat University

Prof. Lalit Kumar Awasthi
Director, NIT Jalandhar and NIT Hamirpur

Prof. S. S. Pattnaik
Director, NITTTR Chandigarh

Prof. J. P. Singhal Former Vice Chancellor University of Rajasthan

Prof. Chandra Shekhar Honourable Chairman-BoG, NIT Hamirpur

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Col. B. Venkat (Director FDC, AICTE)

Dr. Pratyay Kuila (HoD CSE, NIT Sikkim)

Dr. Shambhunath Barman (HoD ME, NIT Sikkim)

Dr. Ranjan Basak (Assistant Professor ME, NIT Sikkim)

REGISTRATION

For registration, Click here

CONTACT



dhananjaystripathi9@nitsikkim.ac.in sray.cse@nitsikkim.ac.in